Servo Quod Lost In In Man’s Terra
It’s a Dump Filled with abusive and in appropriate subjects and expressions if you are not cool with that go away, if you are then feel free to step right in :)

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford

“I haven’t been acting correctly. I can’t hardly recognize myself sometimes when I’m greased. I go on journeys out of my body and look at my red hands and my mean face and I wonder about that man who’s gone so wrong. I’ve been becoming a problem to myself.”- Jesse James

I have been blogging and blogging about the disappointing movies I am watching but this time I am blogging about a movie that took my breath away.. First of all I love Brad Pitt not the pretty boy Bard but the actor Brad who really managed to sell me every single character he portrayed and hence came my anticipation to watch..

“The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford”..

A 2007 Western drama film adapted from Ron Hansen’s 1983 novel of the same name. The film is directed by Andrew Dominik, with Brad Pitt portraying Jesse James and Casey Affleck as Robert Ford. In spite the fact that the movie is almost two and half hours I was never bored and I was amazed by the heartfelt performance of both Pitt and Affleck.. Do not be fooled this is not a western movie about gangs and robberies, not really it’s a movie about friendship, trust, betrayal, and how sometimes you get stabbed in the back by the one you trust the most.

Pitt wears Jesse like an overgrown coat that you don’t want to get rid of. Pitt gives the most tortured, endearing, and frightening performance. He makes the audience so uncomfortable and awkward yet gives off sensitivity and compassion for a very unlikable and ferocious man.
Casey Affleck, arguably the better actor of the Affleck clan gives the most pathetic, annoying and cowardly performance in the last ten years; and its brilliant. With his deep “admiration” for Jesse, his Robert Ford is engulfed in Jesse’s presence and wants enjoy the moments with him, even if he is in fear of him.

The movie is about the last months of Jesse James’s life, from meeting Robert Ford, a 19-year-old who idolizes Jesse, to the day Ford shoots him. Jesse’s a wanted man, living under a pseudonym, carrying out a train robbery, disappearing to Kentucky, and reappearing to plan a bank holdup with Robert and Robert’s brother as his team. The rest of the gang is dead, arrested, or gone from Missouri. Whenever Jesse’s around, there’s tension: he’s murderous, quixotic, depressed, and cautious. Ford wants to be somebody and wants the reward. On April 3, 1882, things come to a head: Jesse is 34, Robert 20. Ford becomes famous, reenacting the shooting on stage, facing down the label “coward,” shot dead in 1892.

Last but definitely not least is the sound track of the movie by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, OMG throughout the movie the music just touches your soul and gives you a sense of sorrow and mallow regret that is fit for a gangster who has lost his life due to the choices he made along the road.

An amazing movie a must see even if you do not like the actors you would just enjoy the performance.

Ratings in my world, 5/5

One Response to “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford”

  1. wow!! finally someone else who actually likes this movie!!!

    I saw it in the movies with a friend a few months back.. and we were the ONLY ones who liked it!! I reeeeeeally liked the acting in the movie… and me and my friend do not know a single soul who liked the movie other than us.. i started doubting myself šŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

